• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

the perfect weekend

After the hectic nature of the past 3 weeks, the perfection of this weekend came as a much needed surprise. March is a busy and stressful time for me at work (which briefly explains my absence recently), and I really needed a great weekend completely removed from work-associated thoughts.

rcra-mohonk-ny-155

Saturday morning I woke up bright and early at 6:30 to meet a friend for a little rummage sale action. The weather was cold, and at first glance, there didn’t seem to be much at the sale that I was interested in. But then I found a fabulous old gossip bench, for $35! It was love at first sight! I am now in search of the perfect fabric for recovering the seat, and once I have done so, I’ll be sure to add a picture.

march-09-019From the rummage sale, we wandered, happily & aimlessly, from thrift store to antique store. We wrapped up the morning with brunch at Toast. It was significantly warmer, and a beautiful day, so we opted to sit outside. Every aspect of the morning was great, from the sunshine, to the conversation, to the music accompanying us in the car and at brunch. Sometimes you just need a little girl time, and this was one of those times. We talked about everything and nothing – families and babies, funny and frustrating stories about our husbands, etc. All in all, a perfect morning!

march-09-014That afternoon, my hubby & I cuddled & napped together on the couch while S. napped upstairs (one of the blissful days that he actually agreed to nap!). Afterward, we headed outside for a walk. We discovered a huge and beautiful field close to our community, where we were able to let the dog off the leash, and explore. We found a deer skeleton (and anyone with a 4 year old boy knows that this is just about as good as life gets), rocks to climb on in the woods, and fallen trees perfect for balancing.

march-09-012When we made it back home, we were all happy, tired, and hungry. We filled our bellies with spagetti and meat(turkey)balls and fresh bread, and sent S. off to bed shortly thereafter. A. & I got in some good couch time, and then a warm bath and bed…

rcra-mohonk-ny-156

And that was just Saturday! Ahhhhh…I am still smiling. Don’t you love the moments where you realize that you are 100% happy right then and there, and you are actually aware of it! It doesn’t get any better!

*The one small downside: I didn’t have my camera with me at all this weekend. All of the pictures I included capture the feeling of the day, if not the actual scenery. You can forgive me for that, right!?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

