• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Irony

How ironic is it that I decide to start a blog about our family, and my year of trying to get our life balanced, and today has been one of the craziest days that I can recall.

I received a call today from A, letting me know that Marco (our beloved Great Dane) had knocked over the heat lamp for Sergeant Pepper (S’s corn snake), which had burned a hole in our floor. Let me repeat that…burned a hole through the floor!

So, as much as I’d like to write philosophically about the daily life of my family, I find myself distracted by the scent of smoke on my clothes, and the thought that something much worse could have happened today…I guess that does put life into perspective for you. The first entry may not be inspiring laughter, but it is certainly allowing me to be grateful for the way the day turned out, and not what could have happened.

Leave a Reply

