• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

There is nothing like driving home on a colder than average night, with a sleeping child in the back seat and Van Morrison in the background to make you feel contemplative. Tonight was a great night, and I am loving my life and family…

Dinner with the in-laws and some extended family visiting for a short while. Homemade chicken & dumplings, which I haven’t had in years, and had forgotten how deliciously simple and theraputic that meal can be. A glass of merlot to chase away the chill of the single digit temperature outside the windows. Seth learned how to do a handstand (with a little assistance from the wall, of course), and proudly showed off his new skill to everyone in the room. Despite the fact that it is January, he provided a little Christmas music during dinner. His version of the Chipmunks Christmas song is priceless…you listen for a minute, having no clue what he is singing, and then you hear it – “me I want a hula hoop!” My wonderful husband going outside to warm my car for me – he knows how much this girl from Louisiana can’t stand being cold.

And from the mouths of babes…as I’m putting him into bed, I ask Seth, “was today a special day?” “Yes,” he replies, “I got to stay up late.” It is so simple for him. Meanwhile, a special day for mom is when I’m in bed early! Actually, I revise my answer. A special day is when I actually take a minute to step back and see all of the little things around me that make each day special. Loving life is a beautiful thing!

Leave a Reply

