• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Spring days

It was 80° yesterday, sunny and breezy – wonderful! Today is slightly cooler (maybe only reaching the 70’s, but just as lovely. Tomorrow is looking to be another beautiful day, and then we are back to the typical March weather. Grey, rainy, and in the 40’s – 50’s.

I know that I am lucky to have such mild winters, but that isn’t an accident. Having been raised in Louisiana, I established with my husband that I simply cannot live further north than Virginia. I love warm weather, I am chronically cold, and know that if I was required to live in a state that experiences months of 30° weather, and LOWER, I would curl up on the couch in a ball with a stack of books and blankets within arms reach, and not move. Admitting my weakness for warmth just makes me admire even more the creative and active lifestyles those of you in the north are able to create for your kids, despite the temperature. I am amazed!

In response to Liz’s post from the weekend, I had to share a couple of our favorite books as well. I love seeing and hearing what other kids are enjoying, so that we can find new favorites through you.

One of our all-time favorites!

One of our all-time favorites!

I was raised on Peter, Paul & Mary, and this book is a beautiful adaptation of the song. I am now just awaiting the release of “Stewball,”  “Marvelous Little Toy,” and all of the other amazing songs that would make great children’s books. Come on Peter Yarrow – we are ready and waiting!
S. is on a HUGE Egypt kick right now. It began with a fascinationwith mummies, as made evident by our Halloween costume. (For the record, the entire costume cost less than $6 – facepaint, spiders, and sheet were all on sale. Easily the cheapest cosutme we’ve made!)
Halloween 2008

Halloween 2008

This interest has slowlygrown, and we are taking full advantage to explore lots of books on Egypt, the pyramids, mummies, Pharaoh’s etc. We have a wonderful book from The Magic Treehouse series for bedtime reading with me or Dad, along with one of those wonderful DK Eyewitness Books on loan from the library.
egypt

Thanks for all of the new books we have found through your various postings – we appreciate the help. This makes me wonder – maybe we should do a “book week” in lieu of a color week in the future. Sharing the books that you & your family are reading and loving? Could be fun!

Leave a Reply

