• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Rainy with a chance of baking

Is it just me, or do rainy days compel you to bake? We had a grey & foggy day today, but I was prepared. I had planned on baking some bread and making cookies. The rain outside, Allison Krauss in the background, and me & my sous chef standing (on a chair) by my side.

march-2009-070

Last night I started the wonderful No Knead Bread recipe that has been floating around. I honestly can’t remember the first place I saw it, but I think it may have been over at Erin’s blog. I’ve been playing with the recipe, and added some olive oil and fresh rosemary this time. As a last minute impulse I also did a light egg was on the top. Who doesn’t love their bread with a nice healthy tan and glowing crust?! I have started spliting our dough into two smaller loaves. I love the crunchy crust, and this just gives me a little more…

march-2009-069

Also, I found this recipe for Chocolate & Cream cookies over on Leslie’s site. What’s not to love – my son even came close to saying that they are BETTER than Oreos. My husband, for the record, vehemently agrees that they are better – much richer & more flavorful. These are what adults think Oreo’s should taste like – so yummy.

march-2009-076

I started out with the original recipe, but ended up using more butter as Leslie said she did. I’m not really sure how the original recipe expects you to be able to create a batter of the proper consistency with just 5 T of butter…it was far too dry to be rolled out.

 I wish I had a picture of S. helping me this afternoon. We are a pro-batter family. There is a long family history involving licking the spoon, stealing a fingertip’s dip of batter while everyone else pretends to not have seen you do so, etc. I proudly carry on the tradition with him. However, as I was putting the eggs back into the fridge, he managed to get batter smudged all over his face! His little hands were a lovely shade of brown, and he had streaks on both cheeks. Presumably from licking his hands to salvage any scrap of batter that may have remained. It was adorable, but my camera was in my husbands car, so you will have to use your imagination.

march-2009-071

The final result of both recipes was quite tasty, and S. managed to eat one before we scooted out the door for swim lessons. Now I am of to pair the cookies with a nice glass of wine. Sounds like a great combo – right?

Leave a Reply

