• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Out of commission & into the kitchen

The past week has been tough. I was on antibiotics, which I have successfully avoided for 10+ years. Unfortunately, I was unable to avoid them this time, and spent 5 days feeling miserable. Why is it that we think it is okay for a medicine to make you feel worse in a different way, as long as it will cure the original problem?

march-09-029So this was my perspective on Saturday. Couch-bound, watching it rain, and playing Slap Jack & Go Fish with S. I was grateful that the weather matched my mood. Isn’t it miserable to be sick on a sunny day?

Saturday evening, my wonderful husband decided to bribe me into a better mood. I don’t know about you, but I accept bribes! Especially heavy, shiny, stainless steal bribes!

march-09-031So that night I managed to get up off the couch long enough to snap a shot of my bright & shiny new mixer, a stack of cookbooks, and a notepad to start my list of “must-bake” recipes for the week.

By Sunday I was feeling better (which miraculously coincided with the end of my medications – coincidence – I think not!), and I’m sure that my mixer calling to me from the kitchen had something to do with that! We have close friends who just had their first child a week ago. My standard treatment for new-baby friends is one meal per week for the first month. They received turkey & spinach meatloaf, smashed potatoes, and fresh bread, along with these tasty cookies…

march-09-034

Double Chocolate Peanut butter Surprise Cookies, courtesy of Everyday Food. Made with Dutch-process cocoa, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and a natural peanut butter filling, they are yummy!

The only adjustments I made was in the chilling time. I hopped in the shower while mine chilled (I’m a big fan of multi-tasking), and only let them chill about 20 minutes. They were fine. In fact, as the dough warmed slightly, they were easier to mold into shape.

I’m thinking that next time I may try this with standard cocoa and milk chocolate chips. I adore dark chocolate, but my hubby prefers things sweeter. I’m thinking these may become closer to a Peanut butter Cup flavor with the sweeter chocolate.

So, despite feeling under the weather, I learned two valuable lessons this weekend:

1) I will not take antibiotics again

2) A new kitchen toy goes a long way in this girl’s heart!

Leave a Reply

