• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Did I just say that?

Last night, after rushing to swim lessons without eating dinner beforehand, we stopped to get something to eat. This is a rare thing for us. We almost always eat at home. So, of course, S. was distracted and wiggly, taking in all of the people and noises around us. And then I heard myself say, “S., stop lollygagging and eat your dinner, please.”

Ummm…excuse me? Did I just say “lollygagging?” Yes…I did.

And, in the pursuit of complete honesty, it’s not the first time. I probably say that once a week, typically at dinner. (S. is a skinny kid, mostly because he just doesn’t stop talking or moving long enough for us to get much food into his body!)

Me & my favorite 4 year old in the entire world!

Me & my favorite 4 year old in the entire world!

I like it – lolly-gag. It’s got a nice ring to it. Granted, I may be mistaken for an 83 year old man by using such verbs, but it fully encompasses what he is doing, while still maintaining a lighthearted tone. I like it. I refuse to stop using it!

To date, I’ve never used the stereotypical phrase of motherhood “because I said so,” but I’m not saying I never will. Becoming a mother means that you find yourself doing all kinds of things you never thought you’d do…

-Taking a second look at someones mucus and/or feces, just to be sure it looks okay.

-Walking through the grocery store singing kids songs, even when alone.

-Explaining to someone why he cannot marry his cousin, even though he loves her soooooo much.

-Uttering the phrase, “We do NOT touch our poopie!” (on more than one occasion…)

-Waking up in the morning to discover that you are halfway down the bed, because someone sneaked in during the night, and is sleeping diagonally across your pillow.

And those are just a few. Ahhh, the joys of motherhood! The best part of it is this. Before you become a mother, you hear stories like those above, and you are shocked, disgusted, in complete disbelief. After becoming a mom, you laugh, you smile when thinking back on those moments, and usually, you can offer an even better story!

If you’d like to make me feel better, to assure me that I am not alone in the things you do to surprise yourself, feel free to share. I’d love to know the word that you’d never thought you’d use, or the thing you’d never thought you’d do, until you became a mother!

One Response

  1. I tell my kids to “beat it,” when I want them to get away from me. It’s so blunt and rude, but really, sometimes they just need to get lost.

    It’s always when they are in a goofy zone, and I am cooking, and our kitchen is small.

    Beat it. They don’t even take it personally. They just scamper off until two seconds later when they scamper in again and get the same directive.

Leave a Reply

