• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

A crappy day – literally…

Today was rough…

My hubby has been sick for four days – home from work, and feeling miserable. This morning I woke-up ready for a 12 hour day at work, only to discover that Marco (the dog) had been sick earlier in the morning. And by “sick,” I mean that he had a severely upset stomach, resulting in 7 piles/puddles throughout our living room. Of course, not a single accident happened on the hard woods, but all on the carpet. Need I remind you that we’ve only been in this house since January?!

It was disgusting – especially when his tail landed smack in a pile, and proceeded to spread the wealth onto the walls of the hallway on his way out the door.

I’ve worked with kids for 10 years. I’ve wiped butts, cleaned vomit, plunged many a clogged toilet…but nothing compared to this. After cleaning for over an hour (thank goodness that I haven’t followed through with my plan to ban paper towels from our house), I started calling carpet companies. There was just no way I was going to be able to sterilize the carpet to a level that would make me feel comfortable walking barefoot, playing with S on the floor, etc.

A hundred bucks later (I would have paid twice as much, just for peace of mind!), the carpet was clean, and I was late for work. The day pretty much kept going in that manner all day. However, the bright spot was this…

A much needed break

A much needed break

I managed to go home for about an hour, and play outside with my Peanut. We played with his knights, we cuddled in my rocking chair and looked at recipes from Food + Wine Magazine, and we took silly pictures together.

Is there any better way to brighten your day? Nothing better comes to mind – except maybe these…

Bright azaleas

Bright azaleas

It was 85 degrees today, sunny, the flowers are out in full force, and the strawberries are ready to be picked! I guess the day turned out okay…

Leave a Reply

