• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Commencing countdown

Friday we leave for a weekend of camping at Hanging Rock State Park. This weekend vacation is long overdue, and we are ready to go! After A. being sick for 4 straight days last week, and a busy/stressful weekend with work, I need some time in the woods. I am ready to get away, to sit and stare into the campfire, to make s’mores with the Peanut, and enjoy some canoeing & time in the sun! I am counting down!!!

marco-tent-022

On another note, have you read the article by Hanna Rosin entitled “The Case Against Breast-feeding”? If you have not, prepare to be angry, and take the time to read it. Also, go here to read Katie’s perspective on the situation, and find a few more links to articles against breast-feeding. (I know – but they truly are arguing against it…)

After reading the posting on Katie’s blog, I read the articles. My initial reaction was anger, but now I’m just discouraged. Why is it that our sex feels the need to judge and compete with one another about something as pivitol as motherhood? We should be cheering each other on, offering advice and perspective, and then supporting other people’s decisions as long as they are made with the best interest of the child in mind.

This is one of the reasons I love reading the blog on Attachment Parenting International. The blog is an open forum, and the site openly offers advice about all aspects of parenting. They discuss parenting frustrations, doubts,  successes, and everything in between. It is reassuring. It is a place where parents can go to get advice and support. That is what this huge community of parents should be doing…

One Response

  1. Hey girl, I am enjoying your blog – I can’t help but smiles as I read! I read the article about breastfeeding and it just makes me sad and shake my head. I truly think we mothers should be able to support each other instead of constantly comparing and judging. I have been on both sides of the breastfeeding street. I tried to exclusively breastfeed Cali, but a difficult delivery and other factors led us to suplement with formula and I did so until I had an emergency gallbladder removal when she was 3 months old. After the hospital stay and pain meds, I couldn’t get breastfeeding started again. Collin on the other hand has latched on and hasn’t looked back! I’ve pumped since the beginning and even left both kids while we went to Grande Isle for a week and I pumped on the boat! I truly believe a mother should make the decision based on what’s best for her and her family. I can’t stand it when people try to pressure mothers. I’m enjoying your blog – keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

