• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Work in progress

I have a couple of works in progress in the kitchen right now. Taken from my new love cookbook (Kneadlessly Simple), I started these two loaves over the past couple of days.

Raisin-Cinnamon Pinwheel

Raisin-Cinnamon Pinwheel

I am using the extended rise for this one. I started the recipe on Sunday, allowed it to rise overnight on the counter, mixed in the cinnamon, raisins, etc, and rolled it on Monday. It has been resting in the fridge ever since. It is looking lovely, and has plumped up quite a bit since the picture above.  The recipe suggests using 1/2 – 1 cup of raisins. I used just over a cup, and cannot imagine using less. I want a raisin in every bite -that’s the point, right?

I am baking this loaf tonight, and plan on some french toast in the morning. (My sister & niece are coming to visit for a few days, and I am off of work Wednesday. Let’s not go thinking that I make french toast while getting S dressed & before heading to work – I’m not that good!)

This second loaf I started last night.

Rosemary & Coarse Salt Foccacia

Rosemary & Coarse Salt Focaccia

It is not in the pretty, smooth and puffy stage, but it already smells delicious. It is completing the first rise today, and tomorrow morning I will roll it our a bit, add the salt and stick it in the oven. I just love rosemary, and my hands smelled yummy last night from picking and chopping it for the bread.

And tomorrow, we feast on breast (well now, that was just a funny typo, so I had to leave it in!) bread…we feast on bread!

“Good bread is the most fundamentally satisfying of all foods; and good bread with fresh butter, the greatest of all feasts.”

James Beard


One Response

  1. I am going to have to get that book – your bread looks amazing.
    I agree with you about just adding to the piles of stuff.

Leave a Reply

