• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Doctor Dread

Is there something you dread? The type of dread that puts knots in your stomach and brings on instant headaches? That is my day today. Let me first say that I am going to be intentionally vague about this – it is a requirement. However, my evening will be spent in a situation that I would avoid at all costs. I kid you not – I just had the thought that I’d rather have dental work done…it’s that bad.

The worst part? While I am busy dreading, and then suffering through, my husband and son are at home having dinner, playing, bathing, reading stories, and tucking in. How is it fair for me to have to miss out on all of that goodness, for this. It isn’t, and that makes it worse.

So what can I do about it? I am fighting with myself, trying to convince myself that it will not be as bad as I’m expecting. I’m sending out the positive thoughts…I’m also preparing my defenses and practicing my poker face. It is important to have a really good poker face in life. Don’t ever let them see you sweat, right?

The rational side of me knows that the anticipation is worse that the actual experience will be, but the emotional side just wants to head for the hills, and forget about it all.

I want to be here…

Rocky Mountain National Park

Rocky Mountain National Park

So, to try and keep my senility over the next couple of hours, I am thinking of trips. My hubby & I are considering a trip later in the year (just the two of us) to serve as a combo gift – anniversary, and birthdays.

Right now, my top choice is Oregon. Driving down the coast, hiking, traveling to a vineyard or two, and feeling completely removed from everything sounds just about perfect…Looking at pictures online is doing me a lot of good right now.

Alright, here we go…

2 Responses

  1. I know that feeling well. I tend to be a worrier too…

    I hope it wasn’t as bad as you anticipated. And, at least, now it is over. 🙂

  2. It was far better than I expected. I was prepared for much worse that I actually had to face. Thanks for the thoughts, Liz!

Leave a Reply

