• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

In a rut & Blind Pilot

I am absolutely a creature of habit when it comes to music. I love all types of music, but there are a handful of bands that are just my all-time favorites. They fit me like your favorite pair of jeans, and I will never give them up. I have recently realized that I’ve only been listening to these few favorites – I’m in a musical rut, I guess. So, I’ve been consciously trying to sample new musicians, and revisit some that I haven’t listened to in awhile.

In my former life, I was continually introduced to new bands & musicians, and loved nothing more than going to hear new performers. That just isn’t conducive to life with a 4 year old, so, I’ve begun relying upon the World Cafe to introduce me to new artists.

My new favorite to date is Blind Pilot. They have such a great & mellow sound, which is right up my alley. Not only is their music great, but the story featured on NPR hooked me. The two guys toured from Vancouver to San Fransisco by bike. They carried all of their own equipment via bike – no equipment van for these guys! Now, really, that is just impressive!

If you go here, you can check out their performance at the South by Southwest festival.

If anyone has any musical recommendations, I am always open to suggestions!

Leave a Reply

