• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

My professional plateau

Where to begin? I have been obviously missing from this site for quite awhile. Looking back, my last post was actually May 7th. YIKES! That was longer than I even realized. Obviously the past two months have been hectic, hence the abnormally long absence. However, I’ve also been in a state of limbo. Here’s the breakdown.

The summer is always insane for me. My work schedule increases greatly during the summer, with longer hours, and more evenings/weekends away from the family. This has been the case for the past 5 years, but this summer has been unique. While the summers have always been stressful and exhausting, the underlying layer was always fun. I loved doing it, even if I hated being away from home so much.

Over the past few months, I’ve felt myself slowing down creatively. It is as if I’ve reached a plateau in my current position. There have previoulsy been multiple opportunities for growth within the company, new projects to participate in, and a wide variety of things to keep me challenged and contented professionally. With the current state of the economy, that just isn’t happening anymore. I have no options for growth within the company, and I’m finding my days monotonous. That does not sit well with me! I like challenges, I like new things, I like my days to be different and feeling fulfilled.

So, in the midst of a recession, I have decided to look at new job possibilities!

I miss the need that I filled when teaching, and would like to find a non-profit organization that can use a creative, energetic thinker. I want to find a new role that allows me to combine my passion and talent for working with children, in a venue that will let me contribute to individual lives. I feel like I’m placing a big order for God to fill, but I know it will happen when it is meant to.

In the meantime, I am learning to deal with a job that leaves me wanting more, which is not something I’m used to. Obviously there are lessons to be learned, and I’m sure that this experience will help me grow in new areas, but I am keeping my fingers crossed that the “perfect” opportunity will come along soon, and I can move into a new phase of my life.

But, every cloud has a silver lining, right? Early in the year, I could feel this “burnout” coming on. Luckily, I made plans for the day camp program that we organize through our center to have one day each week spent at a nearby nature preserve. I am tagging along each week to serve as an extra set of hands, to provide some ecological info, and to relieve some of my office related stress! It has been great – truly the best thing to help me get through this time.

Yesterday we spent the entire day hiking, finding all kinds of critters to look at & identify, playing games in the fields, cooling off in the creek, and just letting them be kids. The majority of these children come from very “plugged in” homes, and it is AMAZING to see how easily they transition into my ideal version of childhood. They love it, and the re-energize me!

Damsel fly

Damsel fly

Identifying the caterpillar we found by our lunches

Identifying the caterpillar we found by our lunches

Waiting patiently for the horse to be within arms reach!

Waiting patiently for the horse to be within arms reach!

So, that is the brief summary of where I’ve been (physically, mentally, and emotionally) over the past two months. I’m sure that as my summer schedule continues to be unpredictable, I will be here less frequently than in the past. However, I’ve realized today just how much I miss coming here to share my thoughts, and read some of yours. Take care, and enjoy your holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

