• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

School supplies? (soundtrack by Martin, Medeski & Wood)

For the past year, I have been aware that Seth would be starting school soon. It has been looming in the future, slowly getting closer and closer to a reality, no matter how hard I try to keep it at bay. I am torn with this stage. I am excited for this milestone in his life, but I’m also nervous about this new phase for our family.

Camp 2009 109

I was the little girl who cried every day before school…well, almost every day. According to my father, the first day I was thrilled! I was all smiles, and ready to go experience this great new thing. At the end of the day, I came home sad and upset, saying that I never wanted to go back, and that attitude continued up until about the 3rd grade. (I have distinct memories of my bus driver “Miss Pudd” driving with one hand on the steering wheel, and one hand around me, as I sobbed on the way to school.)

I’m not quite sure what it was that made school scary for me, but my sister likes to say that our childhood had been so nurturing and warm, that when I went to school, I was shocked and intimidated by the big world. Maybe I should have started school a year later, or maybe it wouldn’t have made a difference. But, the truth is, I’m worried that Seth may experience the same thing.

Camp 2009 089

I am determined not to push my fears and anxieties onto my child, but that little voice in the back of my head questions what the next year will be like. We talk openly about what he can expect, what he is excited to learn, read books about going to school, and I’m hoping this will help prepare him for that transition. But, at the same time, I’m terrified to send him to school!

It is truly absurd, considering I taught in the public schools and my mother currently does. I know that the majority of teachers are loving and supportive individuals who want to help each child succeed. But, I also know the demands that are put on them from the administration, the government, and the other children. Teachers are now responsible for so many other things in addition to educating our children. It is a highly demanding position, and they are certainly underpaid, and severely under appreciated for what they do.

Camp 2009 112

And then, there is the issue of school supplies. I downloaded his school supply list last week, and here is what is required for each Kindergarten student.

  • 2 boxes of tissues
  • 3 folders with bottom pockets & prongs
  • 2 spiral notebooks
  • 1 box of markers
  • 1 box dry erase markers
  • 5 large glue sticks
  • White-Out
  • 1 box crayons
  • 1 box #2 pencils
  • Colored pencils
  • Ziploc bags (1 & 2 gallon, snack & sandwich size)
  • Pink pearl erasers
  • 1 liquid antibacterial soap
  • 2 bottles of hand sanitizer
  • band-aids
  • digital thermometer covers
  • tissues & baby wipes
  • Clorox wipes

My poor husband was shocked. He doesn’t understand that teachers are now basically responsible for outfitting the entire school with the necessary supplies. I understand that, but still wonder – why does each Kindergarten student need to bring White-Out? Is it just me, or is that a LOT of white-out? I understand that teachers use it, but I have always seen white-out as similar to ketchup. Everyone has it, but it just magically never runs out.

And then there is the antibacterial soap, hand sanitizer, AND Clorox wipes? I mean, how many germs are we trying to kill? Apparently the good, the bad, and the ugly! And we all know that the cold season will still hit the classroom hard, and unmercifully, despite having 4 containers of “sanitizers” for each child. It seems like overkill to me, but I really shouldn’t fuss. I don’t want to be “that mom.”

On a side note, I borrowed “Let’s Go Everywhere” by Martin, Medeski & Wood from the library in preparation for our upcoming beach trip, and it is excellent. You should absolutely take a listen. This is one of those rare albums that is meant for kids, but is equally enjoyable for the parents. It is fun, and 100% living room dance party worthy! (Note: It is also suitable for dinner table dancing. We listened, ate dinner, and practiced our seated dance moves last night – “Where Is the Music” was our favorite.)

MMW

2 Responses

  1. They do need a lot for school. My girls are going to a new school this year and I was shocked to find out we don’t buy school supplies. Instead we give the teachers money and they go shopping. It will be $50.00 for my kindergardener (half day) and $35.00 for the 4th grader. This doesn’t give me much chance to bargain shop. Ah well.

  2. Wow – I can’t believe that your school district is able to ask for money. I friend of mine who teaches in the district next to ours isn’t allowed to ask for anything, even donations, due to the economic conditions of some of the students. Don’t you wonder why a half day of kindergarten requires more money than a full day of 4th grade? Hmmm…nothing we can do about it, though!

Leave a Reply

