• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

“I’m gonna be a star”

This phrase was confidently told to me on Saturday, following a stunning “drum solo” while riding in the car to the thrift store. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – this kid cracks me up. But, on this day, he was shockingly correct. As we were making our rounds in the store, he was making up jokes. His favorites are of the “What did the ______ say to the _______” variety. As I was in the dressing room trying on clothes, he was hanging out just outside the door…

Interjection: I am not in the habit of just letting my child wait outside of the dressing room where I cannot see him, but this was a unique set of circumstances. You see, he was with a friend of mine who I haven’t seen or talked to in about 6 years because she has been living abroad – South Korea, Belgium, Amsterdam, etc. (It’s okay to be jealous for a minute…I am too!) Anyway, we had lunch together, parted ways, and then ran into each other hours later, on the other side of town, in the thrift store! I’m taking it as a sign that we are officially going to be a big part of each others lives again, and that makes me happy. I don’t think that you can put a price on the type of friend that you can see or talk to daily, and things be great, or you can go long stretches of time not seeing or talking to each other, and just sit down, and pick up right where you left off. This is one of those friends, and I am so glad that she is back!

…telling jokes non-stop. Like all other 4 year old boys (only 5 more days, and then I have to start calling him a 5 year old!), most of the jokes were funny because they didn’t make any sense, or included a reference to a bodily function. However, he kept them coming. We headed over to check out, and he was still coming up with jokes. Luckily, the people waiting in line with us were laughing, and enjoying him hamming it up. They were commenting on his jokes, and telling him that he was creative – it was a really good group of fellow shoppers! And then came his moment of fame…

Camp 2009 003

Seth, “What did the left ear say to the right ear?”

Me, “I don’t know, Peanut, what?”

Seth, “HEY! I’m over here!!!” (Said while waving his hand and looking to the right.)

Let me just tell you how everyone laughed. He loved it! He soaked it up like a sponge, and immediately, amidst the comments of “He is so funny!” “That was a good one!” “You should get him on video and send it to America’s Funniest Home Videos!”, I could see his brain working. He was trying so hard to come up with another crowd pleasing punch line.

As we drove out of the parking lot, he rolled down his window and shouted to the couple who had been in line behind us, “Have a nice day! I hope you liked my jokes!”

How can you not just love this little boy!? I will tell you – it is absolutely impossible!

One Response

  1. It is impossible! He is a mess! Sorry we won’t be there for the party…(cough, sneeze) I am sure he will be in rare form!

    My favorite Sethism is: “Wellllllll, aaactualllyy, that’s not true because….insert some long explaination involving the words cool or super cool.

    Love ya seester!

Leave a Reply

