• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Vegetables for breakfast & dinner

Last Wednesday I found myself off of work on a weekday, with the Peanut in school, and the house to myself. I had every intention of sitting back, reading, doing some light cleaning, and then making dinner, but that didn’t happen. Instead, I spent the entire day cooking – it was wonderful!

I had been asked told to make more pancakes for breakfast, so those were first on my list. I always make sweet potato pancakes.  They are incredibly tasty, much more flavorful than the standard pancake, and I get to feel good about sneaking in a veggie for breakfast. About once a month I make a batch, freeze them, and – voila! – a quick and satisfying weekday breakfast option.  These happen to be one of the Peanut’s favorites. First of all, they are orange, and he loves anything orange. Add a schmear of Nutella, and then folded in half like a taco, and he is a happy kid!

My second task was making some vegetable broth to be used for that evening’s dinner, and some extra for freezing.I tried out a new combo, and it came out really rich and hearty. Here is what I used…

1 red bell pepper

1 green pepper

1 onion

1 lb carrots

1lb celery

1lb tomatoes

1 lb turnips

I roughly chopped them (large chunks work well and save time) and put them in a roasting pan with a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, 3 bay leaves, 6 cloves of  smashed garlic and some black pepper. I let them roast at 450 for about 2 hours (maybe a little less), until everything was nicely browned. After quickly running a knife over some of the larger pieces, I added the veggies to a stock pot with water, and let them simmer for about another 2 hours. I scooped out about a third of the veggies to freeze for a future soup, removed about a third of the broth to freeze, added some pre-soaked beans for dinner that evening. The flavor of this broth was really flavorful, and much deeper than your standard vegetable broth. I could have eaten a bowl of this with a piece of bread by itself – it was really that good.

I also made a batch of cream biscuits, sugar cookies, and chocolate chip cookies as well. It was a day of cooking, freezing, and eating cookie dough…what can I say – I can’t resist licking the spatula!

2 Responses

  1. Girl, you insprire me! I should start cooking ahead. We hardly eat out anymore – but it would make my life so much easier if I cooked big batches ahead of time! Glad you enjoyed your cooking day:)

  2. Cooking ahead and freezing has become second nature to me over the past few months. It was out of necessity, though. With both of us working outside of the home, we would come home at the end of the day, and have no plans for dinner. We ended up eating junk or spending money at the store unnecessarily. Planning ahead and making double batches has saved me a ton of time and cut down our grocery bill – two good things! (Also, congrats on your training for the half marathon – I’m so impressed!)

Leave a Reply

