• 2010 Reading List

    What I've read this year:

    "The Other Queen" by Phillipa Gregory (Rating: C)

    "The Welsh Girl" by Peter Ho Davies (Rating: A)

    "Mistress of the Sun" by Sandra Gulland (Rating: A)

Playing hooky in the woods

Yesterday I played hooky. I needed a mental health day, so I took the day off, and spent it at home and in the woods. Over the past three or four days, my brain has been going into overdrive. I lay in bed at night, tossing and turning, thinking about a million different things, and willing myself to fall asleep, wanting to wake-up my husband just to say “I can’t sleep!” It is the most frustrating feeling in the world…

I’ve been looking for a new job for the past few months, with little luck. There have been a multitude of applications sent out for positions which I am over-qualified, and yet I don’t get a response. And then, last week, I got a phone call wanting to schedule a phone interview. It couldn’t have come at a better time. I had been in a meeting all evening, dealing with negativity, swallowing my pride, and realizing just how much my job has changed in the past 6 months. I walked out of the meeting feeling physically heavy, and emotionally broken. And then I heard a voice mail about a phone interview.

We talked for 30 minutes on Friday, and the conversation was incredible. The position is right up my alley, with a non-profit that I greatly admire. It would be an amazing change of pace, and something that I feel will reignite my passion for my career. Tomorrow I have an interview with the Director, and I am starting to get nervous. I don’t deal well with nervousness. It is something that I don’t feel often. I’ve interviewed for countless things before, and not felt the anticipation that I’m feeling now. This is the number one contributing factor to my restlessness this week.

Marco enjoying his freedom

So, I played hooky yesterday. I took the Peanut to school, came back home, and walked in the woods with Marco for most of the morning. It was great to just forget about the pressure I’m putting upon myself this week, and just walk and relax. Unfortunately, the relaxation did not remain until bedtime…I still ended up tossing and turning most of the night. However, I’m hoping and praying that tomorrow will go extremely well, despite the bags under my eyes, and that I will be called back in for a final interview with the board. So, I’m asking for good thoughts and prayers regarding this interview. I’m hoping that this is the right opportunity for me, and that I will soon find myself in a new, positive, and meaningful work environment. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

